Problem with test Topo5_10Nodes

Problem with test Topo5_10Nodes

by Francesco Intoci -
Number of replies: 3

Hello,

When I run this test I always get "Expected node X to have received Msg n from Y" (it varies every run). I studied a bit the test and noted that in order to see the packets received by a node the test uses the callback function of the node. So I added debug prints to check whether or not the missing message is being processed by calling correctly the callback, and that's the case for me. If for example I get "Node J is missing message 2 from E", I will see in my logs "J processing msg 2 from E" and "J processed msg 2 from E" ,before and after calling g.Callback with the rumor message. I also added a mutex to manage concurrent calls of the callback, suspecting this was a form of race condition.

Any ideas on the possible problem?

Regards!

In reply to Francesco Intoci

Re: Problem with test Topo5_10Nodes

by Pasindu Nivanthaka Tennage -

Dear Intoci ,

I am a little bit surprised about this behavior. 

If I understood it correctly, you check (using prints) before and after the callback. To dive more, did you check what happens in the receiving side (the entity which receives the callback)?

Regards

In reply to Pasindu Nivanthaka Tennage

by Francesco Intoci -

Hello,

Thanks for the reply. You indeed have understood correctly: I print so that I am sure I am calling the callback. Talking about the entity, I am not sure I have understood what you mean. Do you mean that I should put some prints inside the test?

In reply to Pasindu Nivanthaka Tennage

by Francesco Intoci -

Hello again,